TRUST GOD EVEN WHEN IT DOESN’T MAKE SENSE TO YOU

 

Recently, I’ve been reading a lot about trusting God in my personal quiet time, family devotion, conversations with some of my friends and family members and on social media.

I don’t know if it’s just a coincidence or not but it happens that I’m in a season of my life where I know that God wants me to trust Him even when I don’t understand the season and the process. God wants me to trust Him even when I can’t see Him, hear Him, or feel His presence. He wants me to trust Him even when my experiences don’t match my expectations. He wants me to trust His power, wisdom, goodness and love. He wants me to trust His will and plans even when I don’t know how, where and when they will be accomplished.

It can be very difficult to trust God especially when we don’t understand what is happening and why. It can be very difficult to trust God when the process doesn’t make sense to us. It can very difficult to trust God when our life seems out of control.

But in the midst of all these, in the midst of the unanswered questions, in the midst of everything, God expects us to trust Him.

He wants us to trust His power – that He can do all things. He wants us to trust His wisdom – that He knows the hearts of all and knows all things even before they happen. He wants us to trust His love – that He loves us so much and can freely give us everything because He did not spare His own son but gave Him up for us.

But what happens when we trust God and never receive a tangible fulfilment of God’s promises? What happens when the time we expected our needs to be met passes and our needs haven’t been met? What happens when the time expected for us to receive a fulfilment of God’s promises passes and we don’t receive it?

Does it mean that we didn’t hear God clearly? Does it mean that God lied or failed to fulfil His promises? Does it mean that God’s word failed to come to pass?

It may be true that we didn’t hear God clearly. But as long as it was God who spoke and made a promise, it must surely come to pass. God has never failed to fulfil His promises and His word has never failed to come to pass. God’s love is unending and His power unlimited. His love, wisdom and power are unfailing.

Yes, there may be times when our needs will not be met and our expectations will be shattered. There are times when we may never receive a tangible fulfilment of God’s promises. There may be times when we don’t receive all that God has promised us. But despite these, God wants us to still trust Him.

It doesn’t make sense at all right?

It does make sense to me. Hebrews 11:13 and Hebrews 11:39-40 explains it all. The men of faith mentioned in Hebrews 11 maintained their faith and died without actually receiving what God had promised. They still had faith, even though they had not received what had been promised to them. These men of faith trusted God and won His approval yet none of them received all that God had promised them because God had a better plan.

And that’s where it all makes sense.

I must trust God to fulfil His promises and meet my needs and expectations. But even if I never receive all that God has promised me, even if all my needs are not met, even if my expectations are shattered, I must still trust God because He has a better plan and has prepared something better for me.

Does it make sense to you now?

Dear friends, God wants you to trust Him completely and wants you to keep trusting Him at all times whether it makes sense to you or not.

 

Leave a Reply

