WHAT ARE THE LIES YOU BELIEVE ABOUT YOURSELF?

Have you ever gotten to a point in your life where you are angry with God or just angry at the way your life is? I’ve been there just recently. Angry, unhappy, confused, doubting God, not sure of what I once believed and know about God. I’m just there in what I would call a wilderness season of my life.

But then I remember what I studied during my quiet on 3rd July. I used a devotional titled “In_security: Break Free from What Holds You Back.” Day 9 topic was, “Using Truth to Counter Lies.” We were told to write down the top three lies we believe about ourselves and then find Scriptures that counter each of the lies we wrote down.

I wrote down three lies and three Scriptures to counter each lie. I’m going to go over it again now and add any other lies that I believe about myself and additional Scriptures to counter each lie.

I’m sharing this here, to encourage myself and to encourage you too. Maybe you will be able to relate to the lies I believe about myself. But even if you don’t, get a paper and pen and join me as we counter every lie with the Truth.

Remember that the devil is a liar and the father of all lies and everything that he says is a lie (John 8:44). But God is the Truth (John 14:6). “And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:32 (NLT)

So let’s do this together.

 

No. 1 Lie: I cannot be all I want to be or do all I have a passion to do.

The Truth: “God said, ‘You can do it because I will be with you.'” Exodus 3:12a (ERV)

No. 2 Lie: I will never forget the past and pains.

The Truth: “When anyone is in Christ, it is a whole new world. The old things are gone; suddenly, everything is new!” 2 Corinthians 5:17 (ERV)

No. 3 Lie: My life is filled with suffering and pain.

The Truth: “I will bless you with a future filled with hope – a future of success, not of suffering.” Jeremiah 29:11 (CEV)

The Truth: “My friends, don’t be surprised at the painful things that you are now suffering, which are testing your faith. Don’t think that something strange is happening to you. But you should be happy that you are sharing in Christ’s sufferings. You will be happy and full of joy when Christ shows his glory.” 1 Peter 4:12-13 (ERV)

No. 4 Lie: God doesn’t care about me.

The Truth: “You are precious to me, and I have given you a special place of honor. I love you. That’s why I am willing to trade others, to give up whole nations, to save your life.” Isaiah 43:4 (ERV)

The Truth: “We can come to God with no doubts. This means that when we ask God for things (and those things agree with what God wants for us), God cares about what we say. He listens to us every time we ask him. So we know that he gives us whatever we ask from him.” 1 John 5:14-15 (ERV)

No. 5 Lie: Life is really hard

The Truth: “We often suffer, but we are never crushed. Even when we don’t know what to do, we never give up. In times of trouble, God is with us, and when we are knocked down, we get up again.” 2 Corinthians 4:8-9 (CEV)

The Truth: “Friends, when life gets really difficult, don’t jump to the conclusion that God isn’t on the job. Instead, be glad that you are in the very thick of what Christ experienced. This is a spiritual refining process with glory just around the corner.” 1 Peter 4:12-13 (MSG)

Lie No. 6: I will never be healed.

The Truth: “We are healed by the punishment he suffered, made whole by the blows he received.” Isaiah 53:5b (GNB)

I can go on and on but let me stop here. The devil will come up with lies from time to time, but don’t allow him to succeed. Whenever you begin to feel down, write down your negative feelings, write down that lie and look for a Scripture(s) to counter it.

Your problems may not disappear immediately. But the Truth brings inner peace and joy to your heart.

Know the Truth, believe it, meditate on it and hold on to it.

Leave a Reply

